Committees and Councils

Volunteers for Trident United Way are thought leaders on the board of directors or serve on committees and councils as decision-makers about community investments and strategies. Committee and council volunteers are selected through a Nominating Committee process. Thank you to every individual committee and council member for dedicating your time and talent to help guide Trident United Way's efforts to improve education, financial stability and health outcomes in the Tri-County area.

If you are interested in volunteering on a committee or council email

A photo of several volunteers wearing professional attire. Individuals hold a sign in their hands with a letter on it. The letters all spell out LIVE UNITED

Boards and Committees

The Trident United Way Board of Directors (the Board) is solely responsible for determining the organization’s policy, approving the annual budget and determining the goals of the organization. It is legally and morally responsible for all activities of the organization.  

Board members act as ambassadors for the organization, exercise strategic thinking and planning over the course of their term and become familiar with nonprofit oversight and governance principles.  

Board Chair

Wendy Kopp, FineMark National Bank and Trust

Immediate Past Chair/Nominations Chair

Tim Grow, Elliott Davis

Incoming Board Chair

Mark Lewis, TechCXO

Audit Chair

Christopher Glenn, Roper St. Francis Healthcare

Campaign Cabinet Chair

David Burt, LS3P Associates Ltd.

Community Impact Chair

Courtney Davis, PhD., College of Charleston

Finance Chair

Bob Lowe, ExecHQ

Investment Chair

Dan Gallagher, Community Volunteer

Marketing & Communications Chair

Elizabeth Rogers Prim, Chernoff Newman

Board Members

  • Ernest Andrade, Charleston Digital Corridor

  • Wendy Brewer, Wells Fargo Private Bank

  • P.J. Browning, Evening Post News

  • Natasha Chatman, Fetter Health Care Network

  • Dondi Costin, Ph.D., Charleston Southern University

  • Dan Curia, City of Charleston

  • Sara DeWolf, J.D., Community Volunteer

  • Monifa Ellington, Ingevity

  • Rebecca Engelman, Select Health of South Carolina

  • Bob Fei, Life Cycle Engineering

  • B. Shawan Gillians, J.D., Womble Bond Dickinson

  • Greg Habib, City of Goose Creek

  • Fleetwood Hassell, Bank of South Carolina

  • Scott Howell, Ground Swell Capital

  • Deon Jackson, Berkeley County School District

  • Fran Johnson, Johnson & Johnson Insurance, Inc

  • Julie Kornahrens, Dorchester School District Two

  • Todd Lant, Blackbaud

  • Ken Lott, Santee Cooper

  • Lauren Nilan, Elliott Davis LLC

  • Barbara Melvin, South Carolina Ports Authority

  • Christina Oh, Trident Medical Center

  • Cassandra Price, AstenJohnson

  • Marcela Rabens, Universal Latin News

  • Michael Scarafile, Carolina One Real Estate

  • Reeves Skeen, First Citizens Bank

  • Ken Smith, Womble Bond Dickinson

  • Melanie Stith, Roper St. Francis Healthcare

  • Peter Tecklenburg, Charleston County Government

  • Lisa Van Bergen, Professional Nonprofit Solutions

  • Fran Welch, Ph.D., College of Charleston

  • Ed Woodcock, Ingevity

  • David Zaas, MD, Medical University of South Carolina

  • Bill Zobel, Banks Construction

The Advancement Advisory Council helps to create, implement and evaluate strategies to achieve Trident United Way’s (TUW) Campaign and New Funding/Investment Goals. Attainment of these goals make it possible for TUW to fulfill its mission.

Advancement Advisory Council members have the opportunity to engage various high-level community members to advance TUW’s work and gain unique networking opportunities as a result. 

The primary purpose of the audit committee is to provide oversight of the audit process.



  • Christopher Glenn, Roper St. Francis Healthcare, Chair

  • Mark Lewis, TechCXO

  • Tim Grow, Elliott Davis LLC

The Campaign Cabinet helps guide the strategy of and attainment of Trident United Way’s (TUW) annual campaign goal. Attainment of this goal makes it possible for TUW to fulfill its mission.

Campaign Cabinet members have an opportunity to engage various high-level community members in TUW’s campaign and gain unique networking opportunities as a result.


  • David Burt, LS3P Associates Ltd., Chair
  • Dusti Annan-Coultas, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Ryan Benton, United Bank
  • Tamkio Bligen, Ingevity
  • David Botzis, Dixon Hughes Goodman
  • Francis Johnson Jr., Johnson & Johnson, Inc.
  • Travis Frank, South Carolina Ports Authority
  • Kearney Gregory, Santee Cooper
  • David Hamilton, Truist Bank
  • Sonia Hanson, South State Bank
  • David Morrow, United Bank
  • Matt Roberts, College of Charleston
  • Michael Samuel, Wells Fargo

The Community Impact Committee (CIC) provides strategic direction to the organization for all matters relating to community impact and investment, including, but not limited to, TUW initiatives and strategic investment, partner investments, policy, strategic planning, CI Networks, product development and partner relationships, as well as Investment Review Teams responsibilities/operations.



  • Courtney Howard, College of Charleston, Chair

  • Deb Campeau, Community Volunteer

  • Natasha Chatman, Fetter Health Care Network

  • Anne Forrest, Seacoast Supply

  • Anna Lewin Hamilton, Community Volunteer

  • Christopher Harmon, City of Goose Creek

  • Will Hopkins, SC DHEC

  • Parker Lee, The Bank of South Carolina

  • Charles Patrick, Rodgers, Patrick, Westbrook & Brickman

  • Don Smith, Hendrick Automotive

  • Erica Taylor, Charleston County School District

The role of the finance committee is primarily to provide financial oversight for the organization.



  • Bob Lowe, ExecHQ, Chair
  • Preston Bankston, First National Bank
  • Brad Davis, Community Volunteer
  • Stephen Ervin, Definitive Logic
  • Shawan Gillians, J.D., Womble Bond Dickinson
  • Christopher Glenn, Roper St. Francis Healthcare
  • Stefanie Henry, The InterTech Group
  • Tyson Hoff, Samet Corporation
  • Mark Lewis, TechCXO
  • Dawson Smith, Jear Logistics
  • Bill Zobel, Banks Construction Company

The role of the investment committee is to oversee the long term investments of Trident United Way (TUW). 



  • Dan Gallagher, Community Volunteer, Chair
  • Wendy Brewer, Wells Fargo Private Bank
  • Kari Davids, Cummins Turbo Technologies
  • Ben DeWolf, Tower Research Capital
  • Kathryn Diminich, South State Bank
  • Scott Howell, Ground Swell Capital
  • Hugh Lane, The Bank of South Carolina
  • David Lobeck, First Citizens Bank
  • Ben Nesvold, Edward Jones
  • Andrew Porio, Tax Credit MarketPlace
  • Brenda Szymanowski, AstenJohnson
  • John Winthrop, Community Volunteer

The purpose of the Marketing Advisory Council (MAC) is to support Trident United Way Marketing and Communications leadership and team by actively championing the strategies and efforts to further the mission of the organization. 



  • Elizabeth Rogers Prim, Chernoff Newman, Chair

  • Kelsi Brewer, SC Ports Authority

  • Wendy Kopp, FineMark National Bank & Trust

  • Erika LeGendre, College of Charleston

  • Nina Magnesson, BoomTown!

  • Aiyana Mathews, Gardner-Mathews Global Management

  • Elaine Reed, AstenJohnson