Board Of Directors

2024-2025 Board of Directors

Board Chair

Barbara is wearing a red outfit and hard hat, standing in front of a blue sky and a maritime port.

Barbara Melvin 

South Carolina Ports Authority


Melanie is sitting in a purple and white top in front of a grey background smiling in her employee photo.

Melanie Stith 

Roper St. Francis Healthcare

Immediate Past Chair

Mark Lewis 


Audit Chair 

Chris Glenn is wearing a black blazer, grey tie, and white shirt. He is smiling in front of a grey background for his employee photo.

Chris Glenn

Cape Fear Valley Health System 

Community Impact Chair

Courtney Howard, PhD

College of Charleston

Campaign Cabinet Chair

Michael Samuel 

SouthState Bank

Finance Chair

Shawan is wearing a maroon top and she is standing in front of a white background. She is smiling for her employee photo.

B. Shawan Gillians 

Santee Cooper

Investment Committee Chair

Brenda is in a floral top and she is standing in front of a blue background. She is smiling in her headshot.

Brenda Szymanowski 


Marketing & Communications Chair

Peter is wearing a black blazer, white shirt, and green tie. He is smiling in front of a grey background for his employee headshot.

Peter LaMotte 

Chernoff Newman 

Advancement Chair

Wendy is wearing a black blazer and smiling in front of an outdoor backdrop with bricks, a window, and trees,

Wendy Kopp

Community Volunteer

2024-2025 Board Members

  • Catharine Almquist, Trident Technical College 
  • Rita Berry, Greater Summerville/Dorchester County Chamber of Commerce
  • P.J. Browning, Evening Post News
  • Eric Craine, First Citizens Bank
  • Brad Davis, Community Volunteer
  • B. Keith Faulkner, JD, LLM, MBA, Charleston Southern University
  • Bob Fei, Life Cycle Engineering
  • Travis Frank, South Carolina Ports Authority
  • Mollie Gore, Santee Cooper
  • Ruhamah Grooms, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Greg Habib, City of Goose Creek
  • Scott Howell, Ground Swell Capital
  • Deon Jackson, Community Volunteer
  • Brianna Johnson, Berkeley Electric Cooperative
  • Fran Johnson, Johnson & Johnson Insurance, Inc
  • Julie Kornahrens, Community Volunteer
  • Todd Lant, Blackbaud
  • Mark Lattanzio, Truist Bank
  • Parker Lee, The Bank of South Carolina
  • Katie McCravy, Optus Bank
  • Lauren Nilan, Elliott Davis LLC
  • Rev. Marion Platt, Star Gospel
  • Casandra Price, AstenJohnson
  • Marcela Rabens, Universal Latin News & Charleston Latin Guide
  • Michael Scarafile, Carolina One Real Estate
  • Geona Shaw Johnson, City of CharlestonJerome Smalls, City of Charleston
  • Jimmy Staton, Santee Cooper
  • Richard Waring, Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce
  • Fran Welch, Ph.D., College of Charleston
  • Jeremy Willits, Avison Young
  • Ed Woodcock, Ingevity
  • Bill Zobel, Banks Construction

Trident United Way Life Directors

Trident United Way Life Directors are pillars in our community who demonstrate a deep commitment to the Tri-County region and embody the core values upheld by Trident United Way —Integrity, Respect, Equity, Collaboration and Innovation. Each honoree has been duly nominated and unanimously conferred the title of Life Director by the Trident United Way Board of Directors.

Nella Barkley

Hugh Lane, Jr.

Charles Patrick, Jr.

Anita Zucker