Committees and Councils

Volunteers for Trident United Way are thought leaders on the board of directors or serve on committees and councils as decision-makers about community investments and strategies. Committee and council volunteers are selected through a Nominating Committee process. Thank you to every individual committee and council member for dedicating your time and talent to help guide Trident United Way's efforts to improve education, financial stability and health outcomes in the Tri-County area.

If you are interested in volunteering on a committee or council email

Boards and Committees

The Trident United Way Board of Directors (the Board) is solely responsible for determining the organization’s policy, approving the annual budget and determining the goals of the organization. It is legally and morally responsible for all activities of the organization.  

Board members act as ambassadors for the organization, exercise strategic thinking and planning over the course of their term and become familiar with nonprofit oversight and governance principles.  

Board Chair

Mark Lewis, TechCXO

Immediate Past Chair & Advancement Chair

Wendy Kopp, FineMark National Bank

Incoming Board Chair

Barbara Melvin, South Carolina Ports Authority

Audit Chair

Christopher Glenn, Roper St. Francis Healthcare

Campaign Cabinet Chair

Michael Samuel, MikeSam Fitness

Community Impact Chair

Courtney Davis, PhD., College of Charleston

Finance Chair

Bob Lowe, ExecHQ

Investment Chair

Brenda Szymanowski, AstenJohnson

Marketing & Communications Chair

Peter LaMotte, Chernoff Newman

Board Members

  • Catharine Almquist, Trident Technical College

  • Dusti Annan, Medical University of South Carolina

  • Rita Berry, Greater Summerville/Dorchester County Chamber of Commerce

  • Jennifer Brown, Palmetto Community Action Partnership

  • P.J. Browning, Evening Post News

  • Natasha Chatman, Fetter Health Care Network

  • Eric Craine, First Citizens Bank

  • Dan Curia, City of Charleston

  • Brad Davis, Community Volunteer

  • Rebecca Engelman, Select Health of South Carolina

  • Bob Fei, Life Cycle Engineering

  • Travis Frank, South Carolina Ports Authority

  • B. Shawan Gillians, J.D., Womble Bond Dickinson

  • Mollie Gore, Santee Cooper

  • Greg Habib, City of Goose Creek

  • Fleetwood Hassell, Bank of South Carolina

  • Scott Howell, Ground Swell Capital

  • Deon Jackson, Community Volunteer

  • Fran Johnson, Johnson & Johnson Insurance, Inc

  • Julie Kornahrens, Community Volunteer

  • Todd Lant, Blackbaud

  • Mark Lattanzio, Truist Bank

  • Katie McCravy Optus Bank

  • Lauren Nilan, Elliott Davis LLC

  • Christina Oh, Trident Medical Center

  • Rev. Marion Platt, Star Gospel

  • Casandra Price, AstenJohnson

  • Michael Scarafile, Carolina One Real Estate

  • Geona Shaw Johnson, City of Charleston

  • Melanie Stith, Roper St. Francis Healthcare

  • Richard Waring, Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce

  • Fran Welch, Ph.D., College of Charleston

  • Jeremy Willits, Avison Young

  • Ed Woodcock, Ingevity

  • David Zaas, MD, Medical University of South Carolina

  • Bill Zobel, Banks Construction

The primary purpose of the audit committee is to provide oversight of the audit process.


  • Christopher Glenn, Roper St. Francis Healthcare
  • Tim Grow, Elliott Davis
  • Mark Lewis, TechCXO

The Campaign Cabinet helps guide the strategy of and attainment of Trident United Way’s (TUW) annual campaign goal. Attainment of this goal makes it possible for TUW to fulfill its mission.

Campaign Cabinet members have an opportunity to engage various high-level community members in TUW’s campaign and gain unique networking opportunities as a result.


  • Michael Samuel, MikeSam Fitness, Chair
  • Ryan Benton, United Bank
  • David Botzis, FORVIS
  • Ruhamah Dunmeyer Grooms, Booz Allen
  • Kearney Gregory, Santee Cooper
  • Sonia Hanson, South State Bank
  • Brianna Johnson, Berkeley Electric
  • Parker Lee, The Bank of South Carolina
  • Matt Roberts, College of Charleston
  • Peter Tecklenburg, Charleston County
  • Teresa Vaughn, Johnson & Johnson Insurance

The Community Impact Committee (CIC) provides strategic direction to the organization for all matters relating to community impact and investment, including, but not limited to, Trident United Way initiatives and strategic investment, partner investments, policy, strategic planning, CI Networks, product development and partner relationships, as well as Investment Review Teams responsibilities/operations.



  • Courtney Howard, College of Charleston, Chair

  • Deb Campeau, Community Volunteer

  • Natasha Chatman, Fetter Health Care Network

  • Anne Forrest, Seacoast Supply

  • Gerome Gadsden, Apollon Wealth Management, LLC

  • Erin LaBrake, Elliott Davis

  • Parker Lee, The Bank of South Carolina

  • Charles Patrick, Rodgers, Patrick, Westbrook & Brickman

  • Don Smith, Hendrick Automotive

  • Chad Starbuck, C&S Retail Services

The role of the finance committee is primarily to provide financial oversight for the organization.



  • Bob Lowe, ExecHQ, Chair
  • Preston Bankston, PNC Bank
  • Brad Davis, Community Volunteer
  • B. Shawan Gillians, J.D., Santee Cooper
  • Stefanie Henry, The InterTech Group
  • Tyson Hoff, Samet Corporation
  • Mark Lewis, TechCXO
  • Roy Rathburn, Community Volunteer
  • Covington Sharp, Community Volunteer
  • Tony Tripeny, Community Volunteer
  • Bill Zobel, Banks Construction Company

The role of the investment committee is to oversee the long term investments of Trident United Way. 



  • Brenda Szymanowski, AstenJohnson, Chair
  • Wendy Brewer, Wells Fargo Advisors
  • Ben DeWolf, Tower Research Capital
  • Kathryn Diminich, South State Bank
  • Dan Gallagher, Community Volunteer
  • Scott Howell, Ground Swell Capital
  • Hugh Lane, The Bank of South Carolina
  • David Lobeck, First Citizens Bank
  • Ben Nesvold, Edward Jones
  • Andrew Porio, Tax Credit MarketPlace
  • John Winthrop, Community Volunteer

The purpose of the Marketing Advisory Council (MAC) is to support Trident United Way Marketing and Communications leadership and team by actively championing the strategies and efforts to further the mission of the organization. 



  • Peter LaMotte, Chernoff Newman, Chair

  • Matt Brady, Town of Mount Pleasant

  • Kelsi Brewer, MUSC Hollings Cancer Center

  • Wendy Kopp, FineMark National Bank & Trust

  • Erika LeGendre, College of Charleston

  • Nina Magnesson, BoomTown!

  • Aiyana Mathews, Gardner-Mathews Global Management

  • Cathy Quinn, ArborGen, Inc.

  • Elaine Reed, AstenJohnson

  • Elizabeth Rogers Prim, Chernoff Newman